Centriq Training Print Logo


January 21 01:46 AM

Inclement Weather Class Alerts


Kansas City-Based Classes


St. Louis-Based Classes


If class start times are impacted by inclement weather, plans will be shared on the relevant Weather Hotline listed above. Decisions are made by 6:00 AM for day classes and 3:30 PM for evening classes.

Teacher with students in training class - Centriq About.

ITIL® Certification Training

The fundamentals of ITIL® are used by millions of people
around the world, every day. The impact of ITIL is vast.

What is ITIL®?

ITIL is a widely accepted approach to IT Service Management (ITSM), which has been adopted by individuals and organizations across the world. ITIL provides a cohesive set of best practice, drawn from the public and private sectors internationally.

ITIL Certification Diagram ITIL Training

ITIL® Certifications

The ITIL certification scheme provides a modular approach to the framework and comprises a series of certifications focusing on different aspects of ITIL best practice.

These are the levels of certification within the scheme:

ITIL Foundation Level

The Foundation will introduce you to the key elements, concepts, and terminology used in the ITIL® service lifecycle.

The certification can help:

  • Those who require a basic understanding of the ITIL framework
  • Those who need an understanding of how ITIL can be used to enhance IT service management  (ITSM) within an organization
  • IT professionals or others working within an organization that has adopted and adapted ITIL and who need to be informed about, or contribute to, ongoing service improvement

Relevant Training Class(es):

ITIL® Foundation Certification (2011 Edition)

ITIL® Awareness

ITIL Practitioner Level

The ITIL® Practitioner certification offers practical guidance on how to adopt and adapt the ITIL framework to support your business’ objectives. It enables practitioners to not only speak the language of ITIL, but to translate it and use it in practice as well.

ITIL Practitioner can be taken at any stage in the ITIL certification scheme beyond Foundation. It provides a different set of skills not available in the existing certifications.

  • ITIL Practitioner covers the Continual Service Improvement (CSI) approach as the way to structure any improvement initiatives.
  • ITIL Practitioner also covers three key areas crucial to the success of any improvement initiatives:
    • Organizational Change Management
    • Communication
    • Measurement and Metrics

Relevant Training Class(es):

ITIL® Practitioner

ITIL Intermediate Level

The ITIL Intermediate Level has a modular structure with each module providing a different focus on IT Service Management. You can take as few or as many Intermediate qualifications as you need. The Intermediate modules go into more detail than the Foundation certification and focus on different areas of the framework.

The ITIL Intermediate certifications are divided into two categories – Service Lifecycle and Service Capability.

The Service Lifecycle modules are:

The Service Capability modules are:

Relevant Training Class(es):

ITIL® 2011 Continual Service Improvement (CSI)

ITIL® 2011 Service Design (SD)

ITIL® 2011 Service Operation (SO)

ITIL® 2011 Service Strategy (SS)

ITIL® 2011 Service Transition (ST)

ITIL® 2011 Operational Support and Analysis (OSA)

ITIL® 2011 Planning, Protection, and Optimization (PPO)

ITIL® 2011 Release, Control, and Validation (RCV)

ITIL® 2011 Service Offerings and Agreements (SOA)

ITIL Expert Level

The ITIL® Expert level certification is aimed at those who wish to demonstrate knowledge of the ITIL scheme in its entirety and the certificate is awarded to candidates who have already attained a range of ITIL certifications and have a well-rounded knowledge and skills base in ITIL best practices.

You also need to achieve the ITIL Expert certificate if you want to achieve the ITIL Master level, which is the highest and final certification within the ITIL scheme.

There are many possible combinations of modules from the ITIL framework available to those wishing to attain the ITIL Expert certificate, but there are some key requirements:

  • All candidates must hold the ITIL Foundation certificate or a Bridge certification equivalent
  • Candidates must have earned a minimum total of 17 credits from the Foundation and Intermediate modules.
  • Some credits from earlier qualifications and complementary certifications can also count towards these 17 credits. See the ITIL Credit System page for more information.
  • The Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) module must then be taken and passed to achieve a total of 22 credits, which is the minimum required for the ITIL Expert certificate.

The MALC module sits between the Intermediate and Expert certifications and is the final required certification gaining Expert status. It is intended to help you apply and integrate your knowledge of ITIL in real-world settings and in your own workplace.

MALC Examination Format
  • Multiple choice examination questions
  • 10 questions per paper
  • 35 marks required to pass (out of 50 available) – 70%
  • 120 minutes’ duration
  • Closed book

Relevant Training Class(es):

ITIL® Managing Across the Lifecycle Course (MAL)

ITIL Master Level

The ITIL® Master certification validates your ability to apply the principles, methods, and techniques from ITIL in the workplace.

To achieve the ITIL Master certification, you must be able to explain and justify how you have personally selected and applied a range of knowledge, principles, methods, and techniques from the ITIL Framework and supporting management techniques, to achieve desired business outcomes in one or more practical assignments.


Centriq Training is an ITIL® Licensed Affiliate via PeopleCert on behalf of AXELOS and an authorized Pearson Vue testing center. To schedule your certification exam, contact us at 913.322.7000 or 314.644.6400.

Interested? Get More FREE Information:

  • Show us that you are human to see the submit button - Which letter is missing ABCD_FG?
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.